Order for Dartix Web User
Your shopping cart is empty.

Hop Film at a Glance


VIEW FILMS BY:  THEME  or  DATE

After the overheated intensity of the winter awards season, spring gives us all a chance to heave a cinematic sigh of relief. With the Oscars safely past, the slate is open again for smaller, interesting films to shine. In addition to a host of foreign-language gems and classic titles, Hop Film is excited to partner with the African and African American Studies’ symposium on Afro/Black Paris in April and the Spanish and Portuguese department in May. There will also be numerous add-ons so check the weekly HopMail and the Hop Film webpage for the most current schedule.

As ever, stay tuned for our additional programming! See you at the movies, Sydney & Johanna, Hop Film

Oscar Buzz
Fri, March 30: Phantom Thread
Sat, March 31: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Sun, April 1: The Insult


 
Hear Me Roar

We are doing our part to fight the Hollywood gender gap by showcasing the work of women filmmakers and celebrating complex female onscreen characters.

Sat, March 31: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Fri, April 6: Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story
Fri, April 13: In the Fade
Fri, April 20: A Fantastic Woman
Sat, April 21: A Fantastic Woman
Fri, April 27: Afro/Black Paris—Future/Past: Mariannes Noires
Sat, May 5: Oh Lucy!
Sun, May 20: Summer 1993
Fri, May 25: RBG
Sat, May 26: RBG


 
Reel Change

This series highlights films that use the medium to raise awareness, build empathy and tackle social justice issues like poverty, racism, immigration, gender inequality and climate change.

Sun, April 1: The Insult
Sat, April 7: BPM (Beats Per Minute)
Sat, April 7: International Ocean Film Tour - Film Special
Fri, April 13: In the Fade
Fri, April 27: Afro/Black Paris—Future/Past: Mariannes Noires
Fri, April 27: Afro/Black Paris—Future/Past: An Opera of the World
Sat, May 19: Love, Simon


 
Film School

These classics, rare gems, alumni work and shows with live guests are programmed in direct collaboration with Dartmouth classes, student groups and campus centers.

Mon, April 2: The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble
Thu, April 5: The Observers
Sun, April 15: 24 Frames
Thu, April 19: La Belle et la Bête
Fri, April 27: Afro/Black Paris—Future/Past: Mariannes Noires
Fri, April 27: Afro/Black Paris—Future/Past: An Opera of the World
Thu, May 3: Wild Strawberries
Sat, May 12: The Godfather
Thu, May 17: The Complete Metropolis
Sun, May 20: Summer 1993


 
Big Screen Fun

Exactly what it sounds like. While all movies benefit from an immersive theater experience with a live audience, this series promotes films you must see on the big screen.

Sat, March 24: Loving Vincent - Film Special
Tue, March 27: Isle of Dogs - Free
Fri, March 30: Blockers - Free
Sat, April 7: International Ocean Film Tour - Film Special
Wed, April 25: A Fish Called Wanda
Sat, April 28: Borg vs. McEnroe
Fri, May 4: Game Night
Fri, May 11 & 18: The Death of Stalin


 
Film Specials

These select films, often hard to find in theaters, offer a unique theater experience and sometimes involve live guests. These movies are not to be missed!

Sat, March 24: Loving Vincent - Film Special
Sat, April 7: International Ocean Film Tour - Film Special
Sun, May 13: An Evening with “Stranger Things’” David Harbour ’97 - Film Special


 
Event Cinema

In addition to the Met Opera series, Hop film also presents an array of one-of-a-kind, high definition (HD) cinema events, including theater broadcasts, art exhibitions and the occasional rock concert.

Sat & Sun, March 31 & April 1: Così Fan Tutte - The Met Opera in HD
Sun, April 8: Hitler vs Picasso and the Others - Discover Arts in HD
Sat & Sun, April 14 & 15: Luisa Miller - The Met Opera in HD
Sun, April 22: Julius Caesar - National Theatre Live in HD
Sat & Sun, April 28 & 29: Cendrillon - The Met Opera in HD
Sun, May 6: David Hockney at the Royal Academy of Arts - Exhibition on Screen
Sun, May 13: Macbeth - National Theatre Live in HD
Sun, May 27: Cézanne: Portraits of a Life - Exhibition on Screen


 

Ticket Info


$8 • Dart ID $5 • Children 12 & under $5
Take 10 Card $60


Single tickets are available in advance: online and at the Hop Box Office. Tickets may also be bought at the ticket window beginning 30 minutes before start. Film Special prices vary.


The Take 10 Card


This new, easy-to-use punch card rewards movie lovers with a 25% discount, as well as increased choice, flexibility and benefits.

Here’s the scoop on the Take 10:
  • Provides 10 tickets to regular films* for $60. Simply present your Take 10 Card at the ticket window to obtain a ticket.
  • Eligible for Fall, Winter and Spring programs, current Take 10 Cards expire June 1, 2018. Buy as many cards—and as often—as you want!
  • Bring a date! Multiple tickets may be obtained to the same film for friends and family.
  • Tickets can be obtained in advance at the Hop Box Office during regular hours.
*Not applicable for Film Specials
or Event Cinema.


BUY A TAKE 10 CARD

Theater ticket window opens 30 minutes before start. Program subject to change.


Box Office


Monday–Friday: 10 am–6 pm
Saturday: 1–6 pm

Phone: 603.646.2422
Email: hop.box@dartmouth.edu


Hop Film Office


Phone: 603.646.2576
Email: hop.film@dartmouth.edu


About Hop Film


Hopkins Center Film presents over 120 movies a year, ranging from foreign and independent films to recent Oscar winners and classics. Within this slate, there is a Dartmouth Film Society (DFS) themed series and Film Specials, one-of-a-kind shows often with a live guest. Rounding out the lineup are the Event Cinema shows: HD broadcasts ranging from The Metropolitan Opera to London’s National Theatre to blockbuster art exhibitions.