### Hopkins Center for the Arts at Dartmouth

presents

# Meklit

#### Saturday, February 3, 8 pm Rollins Chapel • Dartmouth College • 2024

Programmed in conjunction with Dartmouth's Black Legacy Month

Funded in part by the Class of 1961 Legacy: The American Tradition in Performance Fund, the Bob Gatzert 1951 Jazz Series Fund for the Hopkins Center, the David H. Hilton 1951 Fund No. 2, a gift from Amy and Henry Nachman.

## Program

Approximate duration: 90 minutes Titles will be announced from the stage

### **About the Artist**

**Meklit Hadero** is an Ethiopian American vocalist, songwriter and composer, known for her electric stage presence, innovative sound and vibrant cultural activism. Her Ethio-jazz music has taken her to renowned stages across four continents and her collaborations have stretched from Kronos Quartet to Preservation Hall. Tonight, Meklit celebrates the release of a brand new single from her forthcoming EP *Ethio-Blue*.

Meklit is co-founder, co-producer and host of Movement, a new podcast, radio series and live show uplifting the

stories and songs of immigrant musicians. The show airs monthly on PRX's *The World* to an audience of 2.5 million listeners. Meklit is also a National Geographic Explorer, a TED Senior Fellow and a former Artist-in-Residence at Harvard and NYU. She is the co-founder of the Nile Project, a featured voice in UN Women's theme song and the winner of the 2021 globalFEST Artist Award. Meklit's work has been featured by the *New York Times, BBC, CNN, NPR, Washington Post, Vibe Magazine, San Francisco Chronicle, Boston Globe* and many more.

## Arts in the Curriculum & Community

As part of the Hop's tradition of immersing artists in the Dartmouth community to build knowledge and create connections, Meklit will attend a House dinner and a student lunch with the Ethiopian and Eritrean Students Association. She will also visit a school in the Upper Valley area to engage with younger students.

#### Hopkins Center Board of Advisors

Jim Bildner '75 P'08 Anne Fleischli Blackburn '91 P'23 Ken Burns H'93 Rebecca Byrne P'20 P'22 Leslie T. Chao '78 P'20 P'24 Stanley Chou '93 John A. Cortese '02 Kim Lessow Crockett '92 Rachel Dratch '88 Claire Foerster P'18 P'21 Lizanne Fontaine '77 P'04 P'09 Pamela A. Codispoti Habner '88 Kelly Fowler Hunter '83 Tu'88 P'13 P'15 P'19 Jennifer López '08 Hilary Spaulding Richards '92 Laurel Richie '81, Chair of the Board Daniel E. Rush '92 Peter S. Vosshall '92 Sharon Washington '81

#### **Hopkins Center Directorate**

Mary Lou Aleskie, Howard Gilman '44 Executive Director Michael Bodel, Director of External Affairs Joshua Price Kol '93, Managing Director/Executive Producer Jan Sillery, Director of Financial and Administrative Operations





Assistive Listening Devices available in the lobby.



If you do not wish to keep your playbill, please discard it in the recycling bin provided in the lobby. Thank you.