# Hopkins Center for the Arts



present

# The School for Lies

#### By David Ives

Originally produced by Classic Stage Company (Brian Kulick, Artistic Director; Jessica R. Jenen, Executive Director)

Jamie Horton, director
Michael Ganio,\* scenic designer
Dina El-Aziz,\* costume designer
Janine Woods Thoma, lighting designer
Ben Scheff,\* sound designer and composer
Jaclyn Pageau '18, intimacy director
Students of Theater 41, stage managers

Content warning: Please note that The School for Lies contains profane and sexual language.

### February 14 & 15 & 20-22 at 7:30 pm February 15 & 22 at 3 pm

Theater on Currier • Dartmouth College • 2025

Thursday, February 20 performance will be open-captioned.

Friday, February 21 performance will be followed by a discussion with members of the cast and director Jamie Horton.

This performance and related programming are made possible in part through generous support from the Drew Dudley 1933 Memorial Endowment, the Michael Ellis 1939 Fund, the Goldner Fund, the Samuel C. Harned 1952 Student Theater Production Fund and the A. Robert Towbin 1957 Fund.

THE SCHOOL FOR LIES is presented by special arrangement with Broadway Licensing, LLC, servicing the Dramatists Play Service collection. (www.dramatists.com)



## Setting

Celimene's drawing room. Paris, 1666 (kinda, sorta)

## Cast (in order of appearance)

Philinte	
Clitander	Mathias Wahl '28
Frank	Lilla Bozek '27
Dubois/Basque	Grace Casale '26
Celimene	Hannah Brooks '26
Oronte	CJ Tebben '26
Eliante	Tristyn Girouard '27
Acaste	Seamus Buckley '27
Arsinoë	Lucia Hartray '27

## **Production Team**

Caparal Managar	Jason Schumacher
•	Joe Cooley
	Kathleen Cunneen
9	Bethany Taylor
	Carpenter Scott Henkels
•	'
	Janine Woods Thoma
. 0	Bethany Padrón
	Anna Winter
	Dulce Silva '25
THEA 41 Students/Stage Managers	Alexander Campbell '26, Eliza Erdrich '25, Yifei Liu '26,
	Jonah Manso '25, Tasman Mullins '25, Arly Sosa '25, Lydia Tucker '25
	Lilla Bozek '27
	Alex Aguilar '26
	Isaac Mullen '26 & Kalen Hixson '28
	JR Tibbetts '28
Costume Shop Assistants	Lily Easter '25, Victoria Eggert '27, Eliza Erdrich '25, Luke Gerdeman '27, Yifei Liu '26,
	Evelyn Piech '25, Danielle Pringle '25, Reece Sharp '28, Dulce Silva '25, Li'ua Tenga '25
Scenic Construction	Alex Aguilar '26, Kevin Farrell '25, Kris Garcia '28, Kalen Hixson '28,
	Yifei Liu '26, Isaac Mullen '26, JR Tibbetts '28
Student Office Assistant	Dulce Silva '25
Cast Representative	Hannah Brooks '26
Department Representatives	Hannah Brooks '26, Dulce Silva '25
THEA 40 Students	Isabel Rose '27, Isaac Cheng '26, Liam Coughlin '25,
	Tristyn Girouard '27, LJ Jacobs '27, Dani Johnson '27,
	Cooper Laporte '26, Josh Lee '26, Michael Leon '25,
	Anthony Ndika '28, Madi Shaer '27, Gaia Yun '25
THEA 40 Costume Shop Assistants	

## Chair of the Department of Theater

There is nothing in the Department of Theater that we love more than creating, producing and studying shows like *The School for Lies* with our students, but I must confess there is a bittersweet side to this production. Two of our much-beloved professors, Jamie Horton, the director, and Michael Ganio, the scenic designer, are leaving us at the end of this academic year. This is their last show with us.

Jamie arrived in 2005 to direct *The Heidi Chronicles* for us; since then, he has directed almost a dozen shows at Dartmouth, always with the student experience at the forefront of his attention. We were exceptionally fortunate when he acted in our production of *Eurydice*—all of us were in awe of the elegance and grace of his heartbreaking performance of a father connecting with his daughter in the afterlife. In the Department, Jamie served for over 13 years as the Director of Theater, essentially running our production program. His sensitivity, drive and limitless energy saw us through the good times and the incredibly complicated times of the COVID-19 pandemic. Jamie was the engine behind our production program.

Michael arrived in 2015 and designed the extraordinarily beautiful set for the musical *Chicago*—we immediately knew that we had found a gem. Theater by its nature is fast-paced and often semi-controlled chaos; in Michael, we saw a theater artist who was meticulously thoughtful and deliberately paced—you could see the creativity grow in

Michael's mind as he slowly and generously parsed out his thoughts and ideas. Michael was a river of calm in the flood of chaos. At first, for me, Michael's slow and deliberate pace was jarring; I tend to talk faster than my mind works, using speed to cover my faults. Michael forced us all to slow down and thoroughly consider each thought, each idea, and each shared moment...in short, he taught us to take a moment and smell the flowers of the creative process.

During their time at Dartmouth, Michael and Jamie were the epitome of artist and teacher. Both had extraordinary careers in theater (and film) and gave their all to sharing their wisdom, artistry and hard-earned common sense with every student they encountered. We are deeply grateful for the many gifts they have left us.

To say that they will be missed does not reflect how profoundly their absence will be felt and how lucky we have been to have had these years working, playing, teaching and creating with these two generous and giving collaborators.

To Michael and Jamie...

On behalf of the entire Department of Theater, thank you.

Dan Kotlowitz Leon E. Williams Professor of Theater Chair, Department of Theater

## **Special Thanks**

New London Barn Playhouse Sudikoff & Currier FO&M Staff

## Department of Theater Faculty and Staff

Daniel Kotlowitz, Chair & Leon E. Williams Professor of Theater Laura Edmondson, Professor of Theater Peter Hackett. Avalon Foundation Professor in the Humanities Jamie Horton, Associate Professor of Theater Laurie Churba, Associate Professor of Theater Michael Ganio, Associate Professor of Theater Monica White Ndounou Associate Professor of Theater Mara B. Sabinson, Associate Professor of Theater Analola Santana, Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, Affiliated Woon-Ping Chin, Visiting Professor of Theater Carol Dunne, Senior Lecturer Keith Coughlin, Senior Lecturer Christian Kohn, Senior Lecturer

Joe Cooley, Lecturer, Production Manager Kathleen Cunneen, Lecturer, Stage Management Advisor Melinda Evans, Lecturer John J. Heginbotham, Lecturer Rebecca Stenn, Lecturer Madison Williams, Visiting Lecturer Bethany Taylor, Lecturer, Technical Director Scott Henkels, Assistant Technical Director/Master Carpenter Janine Woods Thoma, Master Electrician Anna Winter, Cutter/Draper Bethany Padrón, Costume Shop Manager Catherine Jacobs, Academic Coordinator Greg Potter, Department Administrator Jason Schumacher, General Manager

#### **Hopkins Center Board of Advisors**

Jim Bildner '75 P'08
Anne Fleischli Blackburn '91 P'23
Ken Burns H'93
Rebecca Byrne P'20 P'22
Leslie T. Chao '78 P'20 P'24
Stanley Chou '93
John A. Cortese '02
Kim Lessow Crockett '92
Heather Deering Crosby '93
Rachel Dratch '88

Claire Foerster P'18 P'21
Lizanne Fontaine '77 P'04 P'09
Pamela A. Codispoti Habner '88
Jennifer López '08
Kristin G. Replogle P'19 P'23 P'25
Hilary Spaulding Richards '92
Laurel Richie '81, Chair of the Board
Daniel E. Rush '92
Peter S. Vosshall '92
Sharon Washington '81

#### **Hopkins Center Directorate**

Mary Lou Aleskie, Howard Gilman '44 Executive Director
Michael Bodel, Director of External Affairs
Lisa Hayes, Director of Facility Operations
Joshua Price Kol '93, Managing Director/Executive Producer
Jan Sillery, Director of Financial and Administrative Operations





