Dartmouth Symphony Orchestra & Barbary Coast Jazz Ensemble Winter 2020
Live Arts
Winter 2020

Symphony Orchestra and Coast

February 21 - 22 Ticket Info

Two of Dartmouth’s flagship student ensembles join to present a new work-in-progress and celebrate the shared musical passions of jazz and classical music—with a deep bow to Shakespeare.

19/20 Hop Ensemble

The Dartmouth Symphony Orchestra and Barbary Coast Jazz Ensemble plus vocal soloists and chorus perform Bynum’s new oratorio, The Temp and Mr. Prosper. The work features an original libretto by acclaimed poet Matthea Harvey, who took Shakespeare’s The Tempest and, through an ingenious erasure process, extracted a witty, uplifting narrative on contemporary labor relations and corporate hierarchy. Continuing in a Shakespearean vein, Bynum’s work is paired on Friday with Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet Suite played by the DSO and on Saturday with the Coast’s rendition of Duke Ellington/Billy Strayhorn’s Bard-based Such Sweet Thunder Suite, composed in 1956 for the then-new Stratford Shakespeare Festival.

The Temp and Mr. Prosper (DSO & Coast)
Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet Suite (DSO)

The Temp and Mr. Prosper (DSO & Coast)
Ellington/Strayhorn Such Sweet Thunder Suite (Coast)

Filippo Ciabatti, DSO conductor
Taylor Ho Bynum, Coast director





Orchestras Expanded Series Hopkins Center
Orchestras Expanded

Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra and Jordi Savall ’s players and singers envelop you in a Baroque-era merging of European, African and Middle Eastern influences. The Dartmouth Symphony Orchestra/...

Learn More

Contact Us

Visiting Information

Hopkins Center
12 Lebanon Street
Hanover, NH

Directions to Venue

You May Also Like:

You May Also Like:

Buy Event Tickets